Unexpected opportunities

Sometimes, the unexpected brings joy.  Often, it brings challenges.  Always, it brings an opportunity to choose.  Am I going to embrace this unexpected conversation, this unexpected task, this unexpected challenge?  Or am I going to resent it?  Complain about it?  Ignore it?

Most mornings when I open my email, my inbox has several new blog posts to peruse while I drink my coffee and fire up the copier for a new day.  Today was no different.  Since it was a workday, I lingered over the blog posts, and the Two Writing Teachers post about Slice of Life caught my eye.  I read through a few of the recent posts, and then, finishing my coffee, moved on with my enormous to-do list.

It wasn’t until this evening, with another cup of coffee in front of me (seems to be a common theme in my life), that I logged onto Twitter and saw the March Slice of Life Story Challenge.  Always one for a challenge, especially one that involves pushing myself as a teacher, I decided to embrace the unexpected.  So here we go!  For the month of March, I will be posting a daily slice of life on my blog.  Stories, reflections, wonderings…I’m excited for the opportunity to practice what I teach my writers every day.

And with that, I realized that the unexpected comes, sometimes with a whisper and other times a crash, but it always offers opportunity.

Slice of Life

One thought on “Unexpected opportunities

  1. Welcome to the challenge! The discipline of daily writing certainly does bring us incredible opportunities. Even when I don’t feel like it, even when life gets in the way, even when I have to make small sacrifices in order to follow through…..I’m so grateful. I hope that you end this month feeling incredibly satisfied. I’m looking forward to keeping up with you here!

    Like

Leave a Reply

