A Creed

Inspired by the amazing Fran McVeigh and her post here (which, in turn, was sparked by the writing of Kendra Limback’s blog here), I crafted my own creed this morning before the school day began.

I believe in God.

I believe in love.  Always choose love.

I believe in making time for conversation. That’s when relationships truly form.

I believe in a growth mindset. Yet is a powerful word.

I believe that learning is a lifelong journey and that it’s a journey we invite students to join.

I believe in giving learners opportunities to tackle problems—real problems.

I believe that stories are essential to our lives.

I believe that sunshine and a long run can cure almost anything.

I believe in the restorative nature of a cup of coffee.

I believe in laughter.

I believe in truth.

I believe that each day can bring miracles.

Articulating my creed was more difficult than I imagined, but it was a powerful to put these guiding beliefs onto the page.  I want to live each day with these echoing in my mind!

Slice of Life

Thanks to Stacey, Anna, Beth, Tara, Dana, and Betsy at Two Writing Teachers for creating a place for writers to share their work and hosting the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

8 thoughts on “A Creed

  1. I really enjoyed this! I love how powerful the repetition of “I believe” is. I will have to try this as well. May show up later this month as i will need to think about it for a while. Thanks for making me think. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is hard to name those things for which we most believe. But after that work is done, that creed becomes a north compass–always pointing us in the direction of our truth and our values. Congratulations!

    Like

  3. What a fantastic idea. This is the perfect time of year to craft a creed too. The new year has passed, and spring is coming….

    Like

Leave a Reply

