The Best-Laid Plans…

I know that workdays are designed to be productive.  And I fully planned to be productive, as my to-do list readily attests.  I have report cards to finish, planning to do, organizing and cleaning calling my name, and people to meet with for a variety of reasons.  But somehow, my list always seems to be longer than the day.

Isn’t that true in life?  I always think I’m going to get more done than I’m able to complete.  The hardest thing for me is dealing with that reality in a positive way rather than feeling defeated.  So, with that in mind, I’m going to use today as best as I can and know that the rest of my list will get done eventually.

Just maybe not today.

Oh, and the highlight of the day?  The amazing sunshine that beckons me outdoors.  Maybe I’ll have to take my grading outside for a while…

slice-of-life

Thanks to Stacey, Anna, Beth, Tara, Dana, and Betsy at Two Writing Teachers for creating a place for writers to share their work and hosting the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

3 thoughts on “The Best-Laid Plans…

  1. This post rings true for me on so many levels! I love the line, “But somehow, my list always seems to be longer than the day.” I hope you enjoyed the outdoors for a while and that you are having a great time with the challenge. Sometimes the challenge in and of itself feels like another thing on the list, but the rewards are so worth it! Best!

    Like

  2. I got to take a long drive in the sun today. I can’t tell how necessary it was for me to let that list go for a bit and just soak up those rays. Honestly, I think it makes the return that much more productive. I hope you got to catch a few rays yourself today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

