Contrasts & Balance

After my hike yesterday, I knew my legs were going to be feeling a little sore.  So to be proactive, I fired up the hot tub.  I was probably a little overzealous with the temperature, however.  Entering 103 degree water (which may have been perfect in the winter) made my toes burn and my skin tingle.  I decided to wait and let my body adjust to the temperature.  The jets were amazing for those sore muscles, but I soon realized that the water was just too hot.

The solution?  Of course!  Get out of the hot tub (well, first turn the temperature down a bit) and lay on the trampoline.  Not jump on the trampoline, just lay there to cool down.  I could feel the steam rising from my skin, and as I watched the twinkling stars, I was aware of the slow transition from hot to just-right to a little bit chilly.  Once I was on the verge of being too cold—back to the hot tub.

Hot and cold—contrasts.  I moved from one to the other, trying to find balance.  Isn’t that how life is? Too much of this, too little of that.  We adjust, we fine-tune, we change this or that.  But in the midst of my movement, the stars remained the same up above me.

Sometimes I wonder if I’ll ever strike that balance, that just-right place.  Until then, I’ll continue to adjust, to fine-tune, to change.  And in the meantime, I’ll enjoy those stars.

slice-of-life

Thanks to Stacey, Anna, Beth, Tara, Dana, and Betsy at Two Writing Teachers for creating a place for writers to share their work and hosting the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

5 thoughts on “Contrasts & Balance

  1. “Balance” was my, “One Little Word,” a few years ago. During that year I changed from viewing balance as a noun (one static place) to a verb…an action. We have to keep moving to maintain it, and so each day is never quite the same. It seems you discovered the same thing last night as your moved from place to place and temperature to temperature. I enjoyed the way your narrative unfolded. Thank you!

    Like

  2. I loved the way it unfolded too. I was struck by that need for the just right place too. I had a tough day yesterday with lots going on. Thank God, I took a twenty minute cat nap in the middle. That was the balance for me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

