Reflections on a Bike: Boy Writers

One of my favorite things about going to the gym is the first fifteen minutes when I ride the bike and read.  It’s an uninterrupted time that I relish each day.  Usually, I have one of my latest young adult fiction books with me, but sometimes I’ll bring a professional text along.

For the last three days, I’ve been reading and re-reading Ralph Fletcher’s Boy Writers.  Reading it with the lens of my current students was thought-provoking, to say the least.  I love Ralph Fletcher’s insights in all of his books, but this text was especially challenging and intriguing.

As I traveled through its pages, I thought about the writers that come into my classroom and my hopes about the writers that leave my classroom.  I want them to have writing identities, to love writing, to feel confident about who they are as writers.  However, what I realized is that the typical writing workshop is not necessarily geared toward our boy writers.

My head is filled with ideas and questions…I’ll share more later as I unpack my thoughts!

slice-of-life

Thanks to Stacey, Anna, Beth, Tara, Dana, and Betsy at Two Writing Teachers for creating a place for writers to share their work and hosting the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

3 thoughts on “Reflections on a Bike: Boy Writers

  1. I so agree. Boys do not always like to follow the traditional quiet reflection. I often find they need to have interaction in order to produce their pieces. My oldest writes well, reflects with me and then we revise together. My youngest struggles producing anything unless he is given lots of think time and then is able to talk with me first (or someone else). Once he talks it out, he can get going. He made me realize that partner writing can be so helpful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

