Remembering to live a writerly life

Busyness sets in, and with it, my journaling and blogging take a definite backseat.  But when I pick up my pen or when I log in to my blog, the thoughts start flowing, reflection happens, and the busyness slows down for a few minutes.  I’m aware of things in a whole new light, a whole different perspective.  I see the world through a new lens.

Thanks to Kathleen Sokolowski for her post about living a writerly life yesterday.  It was just what I needed to log back in to my blog and do some writing.  My students are starting opinion writing, and they just finished their independent writing projects, so I’ve been dabbling in a bit of writing in my notebook recently, but nothing too extensive.

Tonight, as I left my indoor soccer game, I was struck by the glory of the almost full moon.  It hung over the horizon, reminding me that the world keeps turning regardless of the small frustrations (and even successes) of my day.

This spring, I want to celebrate each new day as it comes.

I want to find joy in the small things.

I want to look for more opportunities to celebrate learning with students.

I want to enjoy the great outdoors.

I want to write every day.

I want to slow down each day, even if just for a moment.

Ready, set, go!

slice-of-life

Thanks to the writers at Two Writing Teachers for hosting the Slice of Life every Tuesday!

8 thoughts on “Remembering to live a writerly life

  1. I love your description of the moon! I’m so honored that the post inspired you to remember your love of writing and to set aside time for it! Awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post!!! “I’m aware of things in a whole new light, a whole different perspective. I see the world through a new lens.” YES! Writing changes my perspective and it helps me so much! I can’t wait to see more of your writing! Happy Tuesday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

