Little things

Monday mornings are hard.  This morning, we had a staff meeting for 3rd, 4th, and 5th grade teachers at 8:00.  Any meeting on a Monday morning can be tricky, but this month, students have been coming in at 8:15 to start their SOL writing before school.  Thankfully, one of our second-grade teachers agreed to stay with the writers during the meeting, but I definitely was a clock-watcher as the minutes ticked away.

I scrambled out of the meeting and rushed to the lounge to refill my coffee cup.  Only my K-cup wouldn’t work, for whatever reason.  No time to troubleshoot, so I begrudgingly took my coffee cup back to the classroom.

Writers were busy uploading their slices or finishing their writing, quietly sharing with one another as they waited to use the iPads.  The quiet piano music filled the air, and I took a deep breath. In.  Out.  And then one of my students spotted me across the room and came over.

“Miss Hansen, I have something for you!” she exclaimed, handing me a stuffed animal with a bag of chocolates attached to it.  Thanking her, I stopped to read the note scrawled on a red Post-it: “Miss Hansen, you’re the best teacher and I will miss you on my trip.  Hope you love the goodies.”

IMG_3774

With that small gift and note, Monday morning started looking brighter, despite the chilly wind and snowflakes threatening to fall outside.

Breathe in.  Breathe out.  Look for the little things.  Find the gift in each moment.

Happy Monday!

slice-of-life

I am participating in the Slice of Life challenge to write and publish a post each day in March.   Thanks to Two Writing Teachers for creating a place for writers to share their work all month long and hosting the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

7 thoughts on “Little things

  1. Very sweet moment. Can relate to not letting or trying not to let a small thing here or there color my entire day negatively, but it’s nice how easy it can sometimes be to let one small positive thing help make the whole day brighter.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

