$75k later…

I’ve been under contract on a house since the end of February, which has been pretty exciting.  The location is great, the size is perfect, the yard is huge, but it is definitely a fixer-upper.  If it wasn’t the flowered wallpaper and velvety green carpet in the master bedroom, it was probably the green tub and sink in the bathroom that clued me in.  I knew after first seeing it that it was going to need a lot of work, which I thought was mostly cosmetic.  No big deal, right?

Then came the inspection.  It didn’t go so well.  A roof that needs to be repaired, other details in red letters (and for those of you who haven’t gone through the inspection process, red is not a good color), and to top it all off, a foundation that is less than stellar.  I started to lose my excitement over this house but hadn’t given up all optimism…maybe it wouldn’t be as bad upon further inspection.

The roofing inspection came back better than I anticipated; it wasn’t the same “you better fix this or there will be water dripping down on your head” story, so that felt more hopeful.

And then came the foundation inspection.  The guy came out yesterday to do the inspection, and his first words were, “Well…it’s pretty bad, but the good news is that it’s fixable.”  I asked him what that meant, cost-wise.  When he named a figure close to $50,000, I think my jaw dropped.  At the very least, my stomach dropped.  He said it was livable for the time being, though, so I still held onto a shred of my optimism.

Until today when I read the official report and bid.  $75,000.  That was even worse than I thought!

Well, decision made.  With that, I’m back to looking at listings.  And I’m so thankful that I didn’t go through with the contract without having an inspection on the foundation.  Better safe than sorry!  Especially if it’s $75,000 sorry.

slice-of-life

I am participating in the Slice of Life challenge to write and publish a post each day in March.   Thanks to Two Writing Teachers for creating a place for writers to share their work all month long and hosting the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

 

9 thoughts on “$75k later…

  1. I love that last line: Especially if it’s $75,000 sorry. I think crafts like this are so interesting, when we turn a noun into an adjective or play with parts of speech this way. A perfect way to wrap up your piece.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

