Seaside noticings

I’m currently sitting on some rocks overlooking the ocean at our hostel outside of San Francisco. Words cannot even begin to describe what I’m experiencing right now. But I decided to use all five senses to try to encapsulate the moment.

IMG_3887

Sight:
Waves crashing against the rocks, the spray almost erupting into the air.
Seagulls dipping low, then rising higher, moving with the sea breeze.
Cliffs jutting out of the ocean in the distance, their rugged rockiness juxtaposed with the green hills behind.
The sun shimmering on the water, the brilliance almost painful in its beauty.

Sound:
Waves beating against the rocks, growing louder—almost thundering in their power—until they hit the shore and quiet for a moment before beginning again.

Taste:
Salt from the sea air, subtle but powerful in its subtlety, bringing back memories of many Pacific Ocean vacations through the years.

Smell:
Sea air filling my nostrils, the fresh breeze mixed with a tinge of saltiness.

Touch:
Rocks underneath me, bumpy yet providing a seat for my oceanfront ponderings.
My hair blowing across my face, the breeze playing with its ends.
The humidity coating my skin, giving my hands that slightly sticky feeling.

And now…for more exploring!

slice-of-life

I am participating in the Slice of Life challenge to write and publish a post each day in March.   Thanks to Two Writing Teachers for creating a place for writers to share their work all month long and hosting the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

2 thoughts on “Seaside noticings

Leave a Reply

