Chocolate chip heaven

Best part of the day?  When I pulled out a tupperware container with freshly baked chocolate chip cookies as a late birthday treat for my students.  I wasn’t planning on bringing in treat for my birthday, but after a few students asked on Friday, I figured that it was better late than never.  When students saw the container, they hurriedly cleaned up and packed their stuff, ready to go home.  Then they anxiously stood by their desks, awaiting the cookie that would soon be placed into their hands.

A chorus of “Miss Hansen, did you make these?” and “Wait, Miss Hansen, are these from scratch?” and “These smell SO good!” arose from the students, and as soon as I took the first bite, students bit into the soft and chocolate-chip-laden cookies.  Their faces were priceless.  One of my students asked for a napkin so she could take her last bite of cookie with her and enjoy it later.  Another student sunk to his knees in delight.  As one boy walked out of the classroom, I heard him exclaim, “Now I know what it means to have your taste buds in heaven!”

Well, I don’t know if my baking skills are quite that amazing.  It’s only the recipe on the back of the chocolate chip bag, but the looks of contentment on my students’ faces were worth every minute I spent baking yesterday!

slice-of-life

Thanks to Two Writing Teachers for creating a place for writers to share their work and hosting the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

5 thoughts on “Chocolate chip heaven

  1. Haha! I love that the kids expected you to bring a treat for your own birthday (if I understand correctly) but they are so very appreciative. I can tell how much you care for them in your careful observation of their “cookie love”.

    Happy birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this! I brought cheese sticks and apples for my birthday treat…the kids were not impressed. However, many were appreciative. Happy Birthday to you!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment