Coaching & teaching

I’ve realized that there are so many parallels between coaching and teaching.  This spring, I’m helping coach a high school girls soccer team, and it is tough!  I have lots of questions and uncertainties and frustrations, which is very similar to my first year of teaching (and my second, and my third…).

This afternoon, I called my high school coach to ask a few questions, and we ended up talking for almost 2 hours.  It’s amazing what fresh perspective can do for my outlook.  New ideas and new possibilities emerge.  I am excited for this next week!

And like I do for teaching, I also went on Amazon to purchase some coaching books she recommended.  Professional development for coaching…now I can’t wait until Tuesday when the books arrive!

Slice of Life

Thanks to Two Writing Teachers for creating a place for writers to share their work and hosting the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

2 thoughts on “Coaching & teaching

  1. A good mentor can be so inspiring. So happy that you were able to connect with your high school coach. Makes me wonder what my favorite High School English Teacher would say to me if she could.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Enjoy coaching. The team is lucky to
    have you. Hope the books are helpful. Wishing you an amazing thrilling “tough” coaching season!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment