Sounds all around

Thanks to Brooke Kinsman for inspiring this slice based on listening to sounds around you.  Read her poem here!

IMG_1828

Sitting still and listening to sounds
all around me.
Some quiet, some loud.

A busy bee buzzing as he explores the daffodils.
Muffled voices from the backyard next door.
Wind chimes ringing merrily in the breeze.
A car engine rumbling in the distance.
Dogs barking at the runner jogging down the street.
Morning doves cooing in the trees.
My fingers clacking on the keyboard as I write.

Inside my head, there’s a conversation
circling around,
decisions, worries, celebrations.

Inside my head, it’s anything but quiet.
But sitting here on the porch,
I feel the noise dissipating as I listen
to the sounds
of a Saturday.

 

 

Slice of Life

Thanks to Two Writing Teachers for creating a place for writers to share their work and hosting the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

3 thoughts on “Sounds all around

  1. Very nice. I like the quieting down that happened inside your head, too.
    Always seems to work to notice sensory detail…to appreciate, listen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment