Choices

Every day brims with choices, starting from the second the alarm clock rings.  Do I push snooze?  Once?  Twice?  How far should I run?  What do I feel like wearing today?  Coffee? (Well, that one isn’t actually a choice but a necessity…) And that’s all before I even drive to school at 6:45 a.m.

One of the things I love about Saturday mornings is that my choices can be a bit slower.  Less rushing, less chaos, less noise.  Most Saturdays, I can choose to wake up without an alarm clock, eat something for breakfast that’s a little out-of-the-ordinary, go to the gym later, read a book for fun, go for a hike.  Time is less of a dictator on these days; the day is flexible, full of possibilities.

Today was not one of those Saturdays.  Waking up early for a half-marathon and then going straight from there to a girls soccer scrimmage across town meant that I didn’t have my typical Saturday morning choices.  But, as I finally returned home to eat lunch and brought my laptop outside to work on my slice, I realized that I still have choices…if I recognize them.

The choice (and opportunity) to enjoy the crisp morning sunshine on my 13.1 mile run.

The choice to encourage and coach 18 high school girls during their first scrimmage this season.

The choice to call a friend on my way home from the scrimmage just to chat.

The choice to bask in the sunshine even with the pile of grading sitting next to me.

The choice to be part of the community of writers during the month of March.

The choice to enjoy my Saturday, even if it is a little bit busier than some.

Every day brings new choices.  And I’m choosing to have an amazing Saturday.

slice-of-life

I am participating in the Slice of Life challenge to write and publish a post each day in March.   Thanks to Two Writing Teachers for creating a place for writers to share their work all month long and hosting the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

4 thoughts on “Choices

  1. Sounds like your Saturday was awesome! It’s so important to find the positives in our lives every day. There is so much to be grateful for! Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

    Like

  2. Oh I just love this! I love that you remind us that the things that feel like “have tos” are actually choices we make about how to spend our time. That’s a powerful mind shift. Thanks so much for sharing all these beautiful choices you make all day long! I am going to try to adopt the same stance on these busy weekends when I feel overwhelmed by all the places we need to be and things we need to do. Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment