Authentic conversations

IMG_0370

I love reading biographies with my students.  Every year, it’s one of my favorite units for read-aloud.  This year, since I looped with my students, I had to find some new ones.  And the conversations that have stemmed from these texts have been incredible.  The connections and insights are amazing to hear.  The compassion that arises as they learn about injustice in the world gives me hope for our future.

“I can’t believe people thought men were better than women!”

“Nelson Mandela and Martin Luther King, Jr. are really similar.  They both fought for peace and equality and were so brave.”

“Even if you’re locked up [like Zeni], you can make something beautiful.”

“Stay strong and never lose hope.”

I have a stack of texts I’d still like to read before the year is over.  Every text inspires and emboldens students to be better people.  The question is: Which text will be next?

slice-of-life

I am participating in the Slice of Life challenge to write and publish a post each day in March.   Thanks to Two Writing Teachers for creating a place for writers to share their work all month long and hosting the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

 

3 thoughts on “Authentic conversations

Leave a comment