Shades of gray

Friday and yesterday were unseasonably warm.  Sunny.  Blue skies.  Almost shorts and sandals weather.  I was loving it.

But on the news last night, the meteorologists predicted a winter weather advisory for today and tomorrow.  I should have known that the beautiful spring days wouldn’t stay for good, but it’s always a little disappointing to see the gray clouds return and to put the layers on again.

When the morning dawned, sure enough, it was gray and chilly, with raindrops falling throughout the day and tree branches outside my kitchen window dancing with an intensity that wasn’t there a few days ago.  Part of me was tempted to let the weather dictate my outlook on the day.  However, I stopped and reminded myself that spring always enters with an on-again-off-again sort of attitude.  In any given day, it could be sunny, windy, cloudy, or snowy (or any combination).  Which can be a little frustrating.  But also exciting because you never know what the day will bring.  If it’s cold and windy one day, chances are the sun will peek out soon!  The shades of gray are constantly changing.

So here’s to hoping that the cold won’t linger too long…the flowers in the garden need that warmth and sunshine, and I need my Vitamin D!

Slice of Life

Thanks to Two Writing Teachers for creating a place for writers to share their work and hosting the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

5 thoughts on “Shades of gray

  1. Isn’t this true, “I should have known that the beautiful spring days wouldn’t stay for good, but it’s always a little disappointing to see the gray clouds return and to put the layers on again”? I think we are all waiting for the shoe to drop!! Hope your winter weather isn’t too bad!

    Like

    • These spring teasers and winter weather advisories are hard to deal with, especially when we’ve turned the March corner. I was thrilled when I noticed some flowers budding in a lawn on my walk home today. It’s on its way soon.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I especially like your sentence: The shades of gray are constantly changing. Very descriptive. Here’s to hoping for sunny skies soon!

    Like

Leave a comment