10 things I know about writing

Thanks to this idea from Writintime (read it here) for today’s slice.  My third-grade class also recently finished reading Because of Winn-Dixie, and we used the “10 things I know” as part of our reading celebration.

Here are 10 things I know about writing:

  • Sometimes the words simply flow from your pencil, while other times they feel stuck or stifled.
  • Writing is more powerful with an audience in mind.
  • Writing fosters deeper reflection and offers an opportunity to process life.
  • Writing comes in different styles and genres, each with its own effect.
  • Writing changes with every revision, every new draft.
  • Writing can be difficult; it requires discipline.
  • Writing is deeply personal, yet often public.
  • Re-reading your own writing can carry you back through time and space.
  • Writing can be a way to process or a way to persuade, a way to invite or a way to inform.
  • Writing is limitless.

Slice of Life

Thanks to Two Writing Teachers for creating a place for writers to share their work and hosting the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

4 thoughts on “10 things I know about writing

  1. What a wonderful list! I connected to this blog post in two ways: first, my son is also in third grade and just finished Because of Winn-Dixie (which he loved). And second, even though I teach high school students, everything on your list are things we still talk about. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! Writing is difficult, some days more than others, but it is well worth the effort. Happy writing!

    Like

  3. Yes! I agree. To me as a fledgling writer, I FEEL that list, especially:
    “Sometimes the words simply flow from your pencil, while other times they feel stuck or stifled.
    Writing is more powerful with an audience in mind.”

    Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment